Protest Against NLC Community Cuts

On 28th September 2023, the North Lanarkshire Policy and Strategy Committee voted to close 39 community facilities across North Lanarkshire, notably including the Aquatec in Motherwell, the John Smith Pool in Airdrie and Kilsyth Swimming Pool.


Additionally there will be a swathe of closures to libraries and leisure centres across many of our towns and villages.

The next full meeting of North Lanarkshire Council will be held in person on Thurday 5th October at 4pm in the Civic Centre.

There will be a protest held outside the Civic Centre on Windmillhill Street in Motherwell from 3pm onwards to tell our councillors in person that these cuts are unacceptable and must NOT be allowed to be implemented.

Irrespective of who you voted for in the elections, these cuts will affect us all and ALL our elected representatives must be given a clear message that they are all elected to PROTECT our communities, not to destroy them as they are doing now.

If you can please join us on Thursday and please like, share and encourage others to attend to send a clear message to North Lanarkshire Council.

Enough is Enough: NO. MORE. CUTS.

Facebook Event page: HERE

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Protest Against NLC Community Cuts

  1. They keep closing swimming pools around our area. They closed Keswick baths and now Maryport.

    • jester1970 says:

      My grandson goes to the local pool for his lessons. I was all set to join there to use the gym and pool for the rehab for my broken hip. They’ve already cut the opening hours to make it almost unusable – it closes just after lunchtime on a Saturday when the kids are off school! Then they quote “low footfall” as a reason for the closures. Death by a thousand cuts…

      • typical bureaucrat attitude – just like the Government. They make them unusable, then say no-one uses it/them and scrap them. Disgusting!

        It would have been very helpful for your rehab. When I had my non-healing broken big toe, I had to do exercise where I didn’t move the toe so had to go to the gym for a few months (I would never do that if I was healthy). It was very helpful to be able to keep fit while I couldn’t go walking.

        How is your hip doing by the way?

  2. jester1970 says:

    Coming along very, very slowly. I’m not noticing a great deal of progress to be honest. I understand that it can take months. Patience isn’t my strong point.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.