Meet The New Year, Same As The Old Year…

A belated Happy New Year to you all. 2024 has started and at present I’ve seen no great changes, personally with my physical condition, or in the wider world. Lots of talk of “change” at the moment with a UK General Election due, but at the same time the UK has decided to start bombing Yemen. The bombing in Gaza continues unabated. Death, war and taxes. The only changes we are likely to see are in the volume and intensity of thge aforementioned.

We have to find happiness and positivity where we can find it. Over New Year I managed to visit Crianlarich and Killin. It was a joy to be back among nature again, albeit in a very limited way. Spotting a Treecreeper darting among the silver birch was, in the great scheme of things inconsequential, but for me it was a great thing.

With my walking limited, and snow on the ground I decided to play it safe, and stuck to short walks and drone photography. I managed to make two short videos with the footage. One is of Crianlarich and a Mallaig bound Scotrail train, the last northbound daylight service of 2023. The other is an aerial view of Killin and the Falls of Dochart. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meet The New Year, Same As The Old Year…

  1. Happy New Year! Any idea when you’re going to be able to get out walking properly again yet? It seems to be taking a long time 😦

    Particularly liked the Crianlarich video as it took me back to my Munroing and all the trips I had to make to Crian as I called it – and then The Rod & Reel afterwards! 😉

    • jester1970 says:

      Happy New Year to you Carol!
      According to the doctors it can take 12-18 months to be walking “normally” again. That comes with numerous caveats, ifs, buts and maybes….

      • I’m surprised at that! It’s only 10 weeks for a hip replacement before you can go back up the hills etc. and they break the femur for that!

      • Just re-read your accident post to check what you broke and horrified to see it was way back in July! Your comment towards the end ties in with what I’d expect for recovery times:
        “Thankfully, the surgeons were able to repair my own hip rather than give me a total hip replacement, and I’m now facing at least six weeks of gentle recovery before I can head for the hills again.”
        So has something gone wrong with it all? How come they’re now saying it will be so long?!

  2. jester1970 says:

    A genuine misunderstanding on my part. Naïveté on my part I suppose. The “6 weeks” I was told was just to get back on my feet with assistance (crutches). In reality, full recovery takes MUCH longer.
    According to my NHS Physio, I’m doing better than some.
    I don’t feel it though.

    • internet searches of the medical websites say more like 3 months unless there are complications. And that’s if it was operated on, which it wasn’t. I wonder if your physio is used to the more common hip fractures in elderly patients and so having low expectations?

    • Sorry, just re-read it again. So it was operated on but not a hip replacement.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.