Climbing the Walls

It’s now been 3 weeks since my accident, and the joys of Netflix are wearing thin. When I can comfortably sit I have finally managed to start playing catch up on sorting out years worth of photos and videos which I’ve taken but never got round to sorting. The photo above is of my pass certificate for my Army MAPRIC course which I attended in 1997 at Hermitage, near Newbury in Berkshire. If I can’t get out and about I can always take a trip down memory lane…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Climbing the Walls

  1. I found that I couldn’t sit for more than a few minutes for about 5 or 6 weeks after my hip op so I can imagine how you’re feeling. When I wanted to watch a DVD, I had to kneel behind the sofa and lean on the back of it. Sitting just caused immense pain in my sciatic nerve.

    • jester1970 says:

      I can sit at the dining table, but I’m hopping around from cheek to cheek trying to ease the pressure. Not fun by any stretch of the imagination.

      • One thing which might help (not saying it will but helps me when I have standard ‘lack of circulation sciatica’ is to wear support socks all day. You can get zip-on ones nowadays which aren’t as bad to put on and get off. I realise you might not be allowed to bend far enough to put them on yourself though – the rule for hip replacements was that you weren’t allowed to cross a leg past the mid point or bend at the hip more than 90 degrees.

      • oh – and try lots of soft cushions

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.