On The Road to Recovery: Meall Liath na Doire

Setting off from Rannoch and climbing uphill through the thick, clammy pine trees I quickly realised that perhaps I had overestimated my abilities and my progress was not glacial, but I was well below where I used to be. My confidence was returning though, having viewed camping as off-limits for so long it was incredibly enjoyable just to be out on the hills.

Full Article : On The Road to Recovery: Meall Liath na Doire

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On The Road to Recovery: Meall Liath na Doire

  1. Carrying weight, rough ground and hard tracks will be pretty much a no-no for your knee I think. But you’ll need to keep moving and will need to build strong quad muscles for descents. My hip started wearing out at one point but we found my glutes (in my bum) were weak and, since I developed those, I’ve been fine. Just my lungs to worry about now – I’ve gone and got obstructive lung disease😦
    Carol.

  2. jester1970 says:

    You seem to be in the same boat as me- chasing injury and illness around the body. You fix one part for another to give out…

  3. Good to hear you’re on the move again! How was that tent in a wild camping situation. I have the same tent but only ever used it by loch side or campsites. I was going to invest in a Vango banshee 200 but might not bother if my current tent would suit a wildcamp

    • jester1970 says:

      I had one a few years ago which I used on the West Highland Way. I sold it (stupidly) and replaced it with a North Face Mountain Marathon which was good but had no room to sit up in. This one has been used a handful of times and I have no concerns about wild camping in it. Let me know how you get on🙂

Leave a Reply

