The North Lanarkshire Walking Festival: Salsburgh to Hillend Walk

Walking from the Blackhill Transmitter to Mid Bracco

Walking from the Blackhill Transmitter to Mid Bracco

The first ever North Lanarkshire Walking Festival was held this weekend (there are still walks to take place tomorrow) and I was invited to lead one of the walks. I chose a walk over the high ground from Salsburgh via Blackhill Transmitter to Hillend Reservoir.  We took in three lochs along the way and and also the remains of a farm dating back to the early 1700’s.

As well as being joined on the walk by one of the NLC Access team, Hayley Andrew (not forgetting her colleague Mark Palmer, without whom there would have been no transport) I was delighted to host a number of walkers from across Central Scotland, none of whom had walked this stretch of the country before.

While the weather was a bit of a let down in that the lack of visibility meant I couldn’t show off the amazing views from Blackhill, it certainly wasn’t as bad as it could have been and it didn’t seem to detract any from everyone’s enjoyment of the walk.

If those attending this years events help spread the word about just how enjoyable they found it then I’m sure next years event will be twice as successful!

*For those who joined me on the walk and who are visiting looking for the directory of Rights of Way, hover your mouse over the AIRDRIE WALKS tab above, then move to RIGHTS OF WAY, then select the relevant Right of Way.

Map of the route taken

Map of the route taken

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The North Lanarkshire Walking Festival: Salsburgh to Hillend Walk

  1. Glad your first walk went okay – I’ve never officially led a walk although I’m sure I could in one of the areas I know well, e.g. Lakes.
    Carol.

  2. jester1970 says:

    I’ve been leading walks for years, but this was my first since 2014 (due to me knee condition).
    It’s nice to be able to pass something on and give everyone an enjoyable day out.

Leave a Reply

