Loch Awe

When I was young I was a regular visitor to Loch Awe. I often fished here, always at the same spot, at the mouth of the Cladich River on the south side of the loch. A few weeks ago I came up by train to Dalmally, hoping to visit Kilchurn Castle at the head of the loch and afterwards to visit my old fishing spot.

Loch Awe, 1985-ish

Loch Awe, 1985-ish

Sadly recent heavy rain put paid to all my plans. The day itself was fantastic, bright and clear, and indeed had I been on the hills I’d have been delighted with the weather for the time of year. However the previous few days had seen horrendous rain, so much so that the River Orchy was now flowing through the trees and the loch had risen to such an extent that the route to the castle was under 3 feet or more of water.

The golf course is under there. I'd recommend a 5 iron and snorkel...

The golf course is under there. I’d recommend a 5 iron and snorkel…

The nearby golf course was no more than a series of isolated islands marked with limp, wet flags. Likewise the spot where I use to fish was now inhabited by fish. A week later the water still had not receded, and it may be a while before I can walk out to the castle again. I had to content myself with a cycle along the loch where I discovered a track, an old military road that looked suitable for the bike, but soon became very boggy. I’ll be back in better, drier weather with the mountain bike. When will it have dried out though?

Loch Awe and Ben Cruachan, October 2014

Loch Awe and Ben Cruachan, October 2014

Kilchurn Castle with Beinn Eunaich in the background

Kilchurn Castle with Beinn Eunaich in the background

Loch Awe 281014 (5)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

