Wet, wet, wet…

Welcome to Scotland

 

Well, summers here, and what a mixed up bag of delights it is. Seemingly endless rain which can defeat even the most expensive of waterproofs, snow in Airdrie in the middle of May, with one day of sunshine last week sandwiched in between.

I headed off to Ratagan near Glen Shiel with Glasgow HF Outdoor Club for the recent bank holiday. I planned to cycle from Kyle of Lochalsh to Ratagan, and on paper the journey looked fantastic, taking in the spectacular scenery along Loch Alsh and Loch Duich, as well as the stunning Eileen Donan Castle. I had hoped to get some good photos, but within minutes of leaving Kyle I was utterly drenched. A dream is only a nightmare with better scenery, and the dream jouney was not to be. Instead it became an endurance test against the cold and wet, and if you passed me on the road you’d be mistaken in thinking I was smiling. That was my gritted teeth you saw! The return journey a few days later was little better, and while I did manage to snatch a few photos of the castle, they won’t be appearing on any postcards soon, not with it clad in scaffolding and netting for roof repairs.

I did manage to get two walks in, although the weather meant Munros were out of the question, so I trod a path less well known instead, trip reports to follow. In the meantime I’m reproofing all my gear, waterproofing my boots and in general preparing for what the rest of summer will throw at us. Roll on autumn!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

