The Highlands are rubbish (strewn).

Yesterday I was up at Drumochter trying to add another two Munros to my tally. Cycling down the cyclepath from Dalwhinnie, which shadows the A9, I couldn’t help but notice the amount of discarded junk whick lines the side of the road. This must be the dirtiest stretch of road I have come across outwith Airdrie, probably not an accolade which the area would welcome. Fast food containers, drinks cartons, enough car parts to build your own vehicle, the list goes on and on. At one point I saw a bottle which I recognised from my last visit here, sometime last year! The layby areas at Drumochter were far and away the worst, the heather was a mass of soggy newspapers and broken beer bottles. I don’t know what is worse, the fact that so many people drive through here tossing their crap wherever they fancy, or that the authorities who look after the area are allowing this iconic pass to drown in rubbish. As someone who will chase an escaped sweetie wrapper across a windy hilltop such behaviour is beyond my understanding.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

