Blackhill Windfarm- A small victory?

Some time back I lodged an objection to a proposed 3 turbine wind-farm on the south side of the Lilly Loch. This was a revised application, from an initial application of 7 turbines, which was initially refused due to sites of historic importance which would have been destroyed by the construction.

My objection was based on a number of issues, including the effect on birds and bats in the area. I hadn’t heard anything for some time, and was surprised to see the arrival of a letter from North Lanarkshire Council stating that as of 27th October the application was withdrawn. I hope that this is an end to plans to spoil this area, and not simply a pause. In the meantime I’ll celebrate a small victory.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blackhill Windfarm- A small victory?

  1. Matt says:

    Well done!
    I know there is a lot of archaeology in that area.

    • jester1970 says:

      Cheers Matt. I feel like the little Dutch boy with his finger in the dyke though, as I received a mailshot yesterday about the proposed Greengairs East windfarm. Which leads me to believe there may be a Greengairs West one to come…

Leave a Reply

