Rambling again…

It’s been some time since I posted on here. It’s hard to write about your hillwalking and outdoors experiences when you aren’t actually doing anything.

On 1st January I managed to climb a small hill overlooking Killin and Loch Tay, and on 6th January I joined a few other members of Glasgow HF Outdoor Club on a snowy and wind battered Tinto to blow away the New Year cobwebs. Coming back down the hill I began to develop a pain in my left knee. As some of you who have read a few of my reports may be aware, this isn’t the first time I’ve had knee pain on the hills, but to experience it after only a short walk was worrying. It became even more concerning when it lingered, and lingered…

A visit to the doctors revealed nothing, so off I went to have the knee x-rayed. Frustratingly nothing was found. Having suffered a bad back for years which physiotherapy done wonders for, I contacted the NHS to be referred for physio. I had to wait a few weeks, but after only 5 minutes of my first visit I was diagnosed with Patellofemoral joint disfunction.

I’ve been given a series of stretching exercises, and things are slowly improving. I’ve now managed a few short walks and some light running. This winter has been a write off, but I’m hopeful that things are looking up, and I have my first big test this Thursday when I lead a walk for Glasgow HF Outdoor Club on the Airdrie 5 Lochs Trail. If all goes well I’ll be over the moon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rambling again…

  1. Dave says:

    Aye JIm, both of you last posts ring a bell. On my last trip to Culra I came out with a huge degree of knee pain. I had clearly damaged something again after knee surgery the year before. The following March in the Coe I smashed the knee interior up good and proper. The only thing for it is physio. Back up hills again but in small doses!

Leave a Reply

